That Clinches It For Me

There is far too much discussion about religion in this election. I don’t care who has the better theology, whether one is a better Christian than another, what god says about gays, vaginas or the price of oil for that matter. I don’t care what every two-bit preacher with a mail-order degree thinks. I don’t care what Obama’s pastor said once or twice in the 20 years he attended service in his church (that issue is old news and I don’t want to hear it re-hashed by Santorum).

This Country wasn’t founded on Christian beliefs, scriptures, morality, or religion, nor are the Ten Commandments the basis of all of our laws, so stop saying it. I’m sick and tired of having every speech followed with “…and God Bless the United States”. God’s not blessing anything.Just look around. Do we LOOK like we’ve been blessed? And I don’t want to hear how our kids are failing academically because we don’t let them pray out loud in mandatory prayer before math class.

What I want is a President who says what he will do to keep the government, the economy and the nation, moving in  a positive direction, and in a secular way, without a prayer before every event and session of Congress. I want a secular President, like George Washington, Abraham Lincoln and Teddy Roosevelt. I want what the constitution says, freedom from religion, and no religious test for the office. This whole campaign so far has been one big religious conversation equating to a religious test, with the one who passes getting the job. Bullshit!

So if Franklin Graham says Obama is not all that Christian, but all the others are, then that clinches it for me. I’m voting for the one who is the least Christian of them all, as declared by the most obnoxious, dyed-in-the-wool Christian. I’m sure Pat Robertson, Bryan Fisher and James Dobson all agree.

And I’ll do so even though Franklin Graham speaks out of both sides of his mouth, as you can see from the video. This is why Christians are known for their hypocrisy. It’s the sine qua non of their beliefs. Without hypocrisy, they couldn’t reconcile all the contradictions in their belief system. Watch Graham try it and fail.

H/T The Ebony Mom

.

15 thoughts on “That Clinches It For Me

  1. Now, now Mr. Inquisitor (insert pat on the back here) some sort of religion, hypocritical or genuine, has always been a part of the Washington doings. It’s OK…you’re not going to let it determine what you do or don’t do…right? You never were going to vote for the “Christian guy” were you? And, who died and made Franklin boss…agreed? And, we all know that the next president will be the guy who, once again, fools the American people into voting for them. And, once again, we’ll see how little difference it really makes.

    • Now, now Mr. Inquisitor (insert pat on the back here) some sort of religion, hypocritical or genuine, has always been a part of the Washington doings.

      Always in the background, on Sundays in the privacy of the President’s personal beliefs.Seriously, Dwight, do you think JFK could have been elected if he talked like Santorum? This whole “national dialogue” is an attempt to pander to the stupidest and basest part of America. There is absolutely no intellect applied. It’s completely visceral, because most Americans, especially those who think Fox News is a legitimate news outlet, don’t want to think. And religion, especially the fundamentalist side of your religion, encourages people to turn off their brains and slavishly react to sound bites. It’s hopelessly pathetic.

      You never were going to vote for the “Christian guy” were you?

      Sorry, but there has not been an election in my lifetime where I DIDN’T vote for the Christian guy. They are all Christians, but even Nixon knew better than to put his Quakerism front and center. He knew he was a secular President. Obama has been forced to confirm his Christianity or risk losing, but I voted for him as the lessor of two evils. (McCain and Palin? Get serious.)

      And, we all know that the next president will be the guy who, once again, fools the American people into voting for them.

      That’s pretty cynical, even for you. But then, I’m cynical about the idiots voting for Santorum, so I should talk.

  2. Whitsett, I think even you would have to be afraid if Santorum gets his ass into the Oval Office. It does make a difference. When one of the major parties pushes religion, and virtually nothing else, as its qualification for office, and when a foolish and deluded electorate says it thinks that’s a good thing, then we’re in serious trouble here.

    As for Franklin Graham, his father was deluded and arrogant, but Franklin is those and he’s sick in the head as well. As are, in mitigation, pretty much all of the religion freaks on the right, and that certainly includes wannabe Pope Rick Santorum.

  3. Spanqi, there is no ‘least Christian’ among them. They all wallow in the same mudhole of bullshit, religious and political. Put them in office, give them power, and they become murderous sonsofbitches. And that includes Obama. But it’s okay because their religion says it is and all is forgiven and apple pie will be served in heaven. Awwwww! Religion doth make psychos of them all.

    We should be piling the bloody body parts of dead Muslim women and children on the front steps of the White House.

  4. Perhaps they should have an Imam on to speculate who appears to be most Muslim or maybe an atheist to speculate on who appears the least religious. I don’t know who I’d pick to be the one on camera, but they should get a famous hypocrite say who’s the most hypocritical. You’ve got Obama, alleged constitutional scholar, maintaining Gitmo. Then there’s Santorum who’s so against abortion that he got his wife one, and of course speaking of wives you’ve got Newt.

    They’re all full of shit, and the system sucks so bad that I can’t imagine why anyone who actually could be a good President would bother running.

  5. In brief:

    Q: Mr. Graham – is Obama really a Christian?
    A: Dunno. You gotta ask him. He SAYS he is, but I’m not a mind reader.

    Q: OK, well how about Rick Sanitarium?
    A: Oh, I think so, yes, absolutely.

    Fuckin’ idiot.

  6. I think Mr. Inquisitor, that I am beginning to see why US Atheists are so vocal. Here in Europe – to varying degrees – religion and state are separated, not merely by constitution but by practice. Actually, I do not know how I would handle living in a nation where religious tom-foolery went hand-in-hand with democratic elections. Even in Ireland (a very Catholic nation) I cannot remember when someone’s ‘degree of Christian-ness’ (what an absurd idea) was an issue in the competence to perform public office. Thank you for opening my eyes to this bonkers carry-on.

    What I would really like to know, and I assume there is no clear answer to this, is how can one person be ‘more’ or ‘less’ Christian/Muslim/Hindu… than their neighbour? Has it not always been the case that ‘if you’re in — you’re in?’

      • There’s an old joke…

        I was walking across a bridge one day and I saw a man standing on a ledge, about to jump off. So I ran over and said, “Stop! Don’t do it!”
        “Why shouldn’t I?” he said.
        “Well, there’s so much to live for.” “Like what?” “Well, are you religious?” He said yes. I said, “Me too! Are you Christian or Buddhist?” “Christian.” “Me too! Are you Catholic or Protestant?”
        “Protestant.” “Me too! Are you Episcopalian or Baptist?”
        “Baptist.” “Wow, me too! Are you Baptist Church of God or are you Reformed Baptist Church of God?”
        “Reformed Baptist Church of God.” “Me too. Are you Reformed Baptist Church of God, Reformation of 1789 or Reformed Baptist Church of God, 1915?”
        He said, “Reformed Baptist Church of God, Reformation of 1915.”
        I said, “Die, heretic scum!!” And pushed him off the bridge.

  7. I am so frustrated and angry about American politics and religion – I don’t know why I bothered citing both as if they’re separate entities, but there you have it – that I can’t begin to write about it. I have no idea where to start. A few weeks ago, the Republican hot button issue was abortion. Now, it’s degenerated to birth control.

    Birth Control FFS! What’s next – chastity belts?

    • Perhaps you should send an anonymous note to that effect to your local right wing demagogue. I’m sure that’ll make them even more popular with the ladies. I mean “filthy sluts.”

Comments are closed.