An Interesting Juxtaposition

I thought it would be interesting to juxtapose a couple of recent news articles, and see if it sparks a discussion:

1. This one (and I won’t point out the 6th line of the article)

and

2. This one.

and

3. This one. (ignore the part about the lack of “any kind of formal firearms training” if you can.)

Then, to mix it up, I thought I’d throw in a picture of Rick Santorum on a recent pheasant hunting expedition *, and let you draw your own conclusions.

There’s really no connection and there’s no hidden agenda, so I won’t try to influence your thought processes with any

click me

subliminal messages.

Discuss.

———————–

* …wearing an NRA cap. That’s the National Rifle Association, for those who are acronymically challenged.

16 thoughts on “An Interesting Juxtaposition

    • Oooo. Good start to the discussion! This blog owner is well pleased. 🙂

      I’ll note two things. All four of those articles involve people with guns in their homes which they kept for their own protection. Why? Because in 3 out of 4 of those articles, they were visited, in their homes by would be robbers with guns. Not sure about the dumb kid looking for drugs.

      So where does that lead us?

      I guess we could say that had the family at Christmas (my first article) had a gun or two, perhaps 7 people would not have died. Maybe only one, or more likely 2 or 3. Too bad they weren’t part of the 1.5 million people getting back ground checks just prior to Xmas.

      Good start. Anyone else?

      • Criminals don’t bother with background checks. The question then is how do they get their guns? There are so damn many floating around Philly that they got over a hundred unregistered guns turned in this week for $100 supermarket gift cards.

        Might be an interesting way to dispose of a murder weapon. How much you want to bet those turned in guns either never get checked out by the police or will be put in storage until someday when they get around to checking them?

        I’ve watched too much Law & Order in my life.

        • Don’t know about Philly, but in most places who run those programs (a waste of tax payer money – in my opinion) the guns that are turned in are mostly non-functioning wrecks.

          Also, and again I don’t know about Philly, most of those programs are run with the expressed condition that there are no questions asked, and the guns are not checked. Whether they do or not is another issue, usually related to manpower requirements and the likelihood of actually finding a murder weapon (not very high).

  1. I think my purse went off?

    What the hell is a teenager doing with a handgun in her purse? She’s too young to drink a beer at Fuddrucker’s, but she can carry a fucking gun into Starbucks? WTF?

  2. The person in the original article broke the law (big time), as did the girl at Starbucks (not to mention showing her low standard for coffee quality). I can point to articles about people under the influence of alcohol killing many more people, hurting many more, etc. and yet I get no traction with any proposal to restrict either availability or use of alcohol, or more stringent ability requirements before getting behind the wheel of a two ton weapon.

    As for the NRA cap, tell me people are surprised politicians get money from special interest groups and try to influence voters by showing support for various factions. By the way, the alcohol lobby routinely fights laws meant to keep others safe from drunk drivers.

    I wrote about guns in my blog, and often discuss it on-line, and what I find is that people who are anti-guns generally have no other reason for their antipathy than a lack of familiarity, and because they personally do not want a gun, others should not be able to get one.

    To that I say humans are very poor at risk assessment, and guns are no different.

    To that point, one might argue the gun buying has nothing to do with Obama (although that was the case when he was elected), and more to do with the declining economic conditions. I get news alerts from my local paper, and what I have noticed in the last few years is the increase in robberies, stabbings, shootings, and particularly home invasions are up. This is an informal stat, and we’ll have to wait for the FBI crime report for the year. The point being that just on hearing some of this people might be inclined to purchase a gun for protection. The numbers from last year show a decline in crime, so it probably is a perception issue (another case where what the news chooses to report can magnify or minimize one’s views of their environment).

    That most who buy guns will not get extensive training is not an indictment of the gun any more than the car is at fault for a 17 year old girl running a stop sign this past weekend here in Colorado Springs (http://www.coloradoconnection.com/news/story.aspx?id=701627#.TvyS_zUgdu4). She died, two passengers are severely hurt, and one is near death. The people who hit her are doing better, but they will have to live with having killed a 17 year old, and possibly a 6 year old.

    The point being I had advanced training for handling cars in skids, avoidance, and emergency situations (annoying misnamed “performance driving”), but in the large circle of people I know, only two others went beyond the basic courses (hold the steering wheel so, and use your turn signal), and like me, they have an auto industry background. Worse yet, I only know one person who paid for their teenage son to take advanced driving classes. I am sure there are more, but the majority of people don’t bother beyond telling their kids to “be careful”, and maybe giving them a Derringer (poor choice – difficult to hold and shoot; a small caliber auto would be more appropriate, but I would advise something with more punch).

    And to those who will argue a gun is more dangerous than a car, that alcohol has beneficial uses . . . what can I say; people believe to their bias. I do as well, but I also read stats.

    Disclosure: I own guns. I used to hunt. I am licensed to carry (I don’t carry where it’s illegal to do so – mostly I don’t go places where I am not allowed to carry). I have never shot anyone. I do not drink.

  3. The real juxaposition here is that Rick Santorum is vehemently anti-abortion (or as he would say, “pro-life”), but he supports the NRA on having minimal or no gun restrictions, which have gotten people killed. Pro-life indeed.

  4. I should add that I support the right to own firearms but that people who purchase them should be trained to use them responsibly and that they undergo background checks.

    What I can’t stand is when politicians go on these photo-op “hunts” for birds to establish their street cred with the gun rights crowd. Santorum is not a real hunter and would never go hunting for deer, moose or bear. He looks like a joke in that bright orange jacket of his. Politicians from both parties are guilty of this though. I remember Bill Clinton also going on a duck hunt to show that he was a “good ole’ boy” when he was running for reelection.

Comments are closed.