It’s Girl Scout Cookie Time

Back from the briny deep, this just struck a funny bone.

I used to like Girl Scout cookies, and considered it a worthy cause, but recently it just seems like a pathetic attempt to use child labor to sell inedible, dry, cracker-like biscuits that have shrunk to the size of my thumbnail, and at exorbitant prices to boot.

They’re going to need marketing agents like those above to get me to buy any this year.

OK. I’m not always this cynical and disagreeable.

add to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!

10 thoughts on “It’s Girl Scout Cookie Time

  1. I used to get Girl Scout cookies but not at the prices they’re charging now. It’s just not worth the money for what you get out of it.

  2. I was outside Wal-Mart the other day when some Girl Scouts where shilling, and they keep yelling the price in an ear splitting volume and tone.

    Needless to say, I didn’t buy any cookies.

  3. I think as a parent I would find some issues with the Girl Scouts. Their motto includes a reference to God and even when challenged it wasn’t inclusive of atheists.

    “For some individuals, the word ‘God’, no matter how broadly interpreted, does not appropriately reflect their spiritual beliefs. Since the belief in a spiritual principle is fundamental to Girl Scouting, not the word used to define that belief, it is important that individuals have the opportunity to express that belief in wording meaningful to them. It is essential to maintain the spiritual foundation of Girl Scouting, yet be inclusive of the full range of spiritual beliefs. This [policy change] does not take the word ‘God’ out of the Girl Scout Promise. It gives those individuals who wish to do so the option to state their commitment to the spiritual concepts fundamental to the Movement with a word or words more appropriate to their own beliefs. For instance, an individual may say ‘my faith’ or ‘Allah’ or ‘the Creator’.”

    I think I would just take out the second line:

    “On my honor, I will try:
    To serve God and my country,
    To help people at all times,
    And to live by the Girl Scout Law.”

    And their official policy on sexual discrimination is listed below and while I agree with the spirit of it it’s more like a “Don’t Ask Don’t Tell” policy.

    “As a private organization, Girl Scouts of the U.S.A. respects the values and beliefs of each of its members and does not intrude into personal matters. Therefore, there are no membership policies on sexual preference. However, Girl Scouts of the U.S.A. has firm standards relating to the appropriate conduct of adult volunteers and staff. The Girl Scout organization does not condone or permit sexual displays of any sort by its members during Girl Scout activities, nor does it permit the advocacy or promotion of a personal lifestyle or sexual preference. These are private matters for girls and their families to address.”

    Still, they’re definitely better than the Boy Scouts.

  4. Well if it’s required to acknowledge some god-thing or else, then that’s enough to not buy their cookies.

    What we need is some entrepreneur to come along and create an organization where boys and girls can do all the good things scouts do only without the discrimination and religious indoctrination. Maybe ‘American Scouts’.

  5. Hilarious- and also frightening considering I actually was a girl scou….once… Or wait, I don’t think I made it past the Brownies.

  6. My wife had been pestering me to take my son to join the cub scouts. I always said, “we’ll see.” This time, though, I said that the BSA had been all but taken over by the Mormon church. She asked for evidence, then I just blurted out

    A scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, coureous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent.

    and the Scout Motto is

    On my honor, I will do my duty to God, my country…

    “OK, Fine. Shut up.”

    Point -> me. I was a little surprised that I remembered that crap nearly 30 years after learning it.

Comments are closed.