MERRY FUCKIN’ CHRISTMAS!

See, even atheists can get into the spirit. Yes, I know, I was into the spirits last night, and I’m still trying to shake them this morning, so you can’t claim that I’m not religious spiritual. 8)

Anyway, the word “Christmas”, while being derived from certain Christian beginnings, (ignoring altogether the fact that the day was originally a pagan holiday) has now taken on such a secular hue and tone that I doubt very few people, especially most Christians, experience the knee jerk religious or spiritual reaction to the word that fundamentalists do.  With Santa the dominant image of Christmas, most people consider it a secular holiday.

I’m not one of those secularists who demand that you say “Happy Holidays” at this time of year. Most people with brains know that when I say “Merry Christmas” I’m just reflecting my upbringing, my culture, and my experience with the predominate secular holiday of the year, that I don’t mean anything exclusionary by it, and that I most likely have feelings of good will to all people of belief and non-belief.

And for those who don’t have a brain? Fuck ’em. I still wish them well, but if they don’t feel well, that’s their problem.

Looking for some appropriate artwork to go with this post, I found that someone else had used a graphic that used to grace the banner of my blog, and modified it for the season. So, in the spirit of Christmas, I stole it. Again.

I’ll leave you to your holiday with a thought: Religious fundamentalists make not only a religious issue, but a political issue, out of their belief that life begins at conception. So, if they truly believe that, why do they celebrate Christmas in December? Why not March? That’s when the baby Jesus was conceived, unless he was a preemie.

In any case, no matter how you celebrate this holiday, have a

add to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!

8 thoughts on “MERRY FUCKIN’ CHRISTMAS!

  1. I am not a fanatic when it comes to the greeting “Merry Christmas” but, despite taking hits on it from both the religious (for obvious reasons) and secularists (less obvious – they tend to claim it’s insipid), I really try to use “Happy Holidays”.

    The fact is, I *don’t* celebrate “Christmas” (Christ’s Mass. Interesting concept for the Catholic hating fundies, don’t you think?) but I do celebrate “the season”. I appreciate that people do tend to *try* to be kinder at this time. I love the aspect of feasts and other gatherings that can bring people together, where they might not have otherwise. I think the end of the old year/beginning of the new is an ideal time for this and for taking a breath and reflecting on the past and the future.

    Fundies like to claim “Jesus is the reason for the season”. How utterly nearsighted of them. Certainly though, they have a point that Jesus is the reason for Christmas. It’s fucking named for him!

    The “reason for the season” is the days getting longer. At least that was the case for those who started these traditions (likely at *least* a thousand years prior to Jesus and probably several thousand years). What it has morphed into, with numerous religions and societies hold claim to one or more days as sacred or special – is fine by me. I just don’t run with any that hold these claims of special privilege.

    Happy Holidays and pass the bottle of Jack!

  2. I’d booby-trap my chimney every X-mas if that was going on.

    The season has always been the reason for celebrations and rituals, and that’s what prompted the early Christians to move their holiday to late December. Now it’s taxes. Buy a bunch of gifts and make donations to charities and drop off old shit at Goodwill before January 1st and rack up those tax exemptions. Retailers also rely on getting those last sales in to boost their final numbers for the year. Money, money, money, the real spirit of the holidays.

    Merry Fucking X-mas!

  3. Looks like Santa got the Schmidt Haus confused with that ‘other one’.

    Be careful if you ask for a Sheet Cake.

  4. For some reason, that Santa brings to mind a certain moderated commenter…that’s gonna make the baby Jesus cry!

Comments are closed.