Doonesbury This Week

My favorite comic strip of all time is, hands down, Doonesbury. Nothing better than irreverence with your humor. Some of you may remember the series “In Search of Reagan’s Brain” back in the 80s. Those series of cartoons caused my local paper to take the strip out of the comics section and put it on the Op-Ed page, where they said it belonged, on the odd theory that people who complained that it wasn’t funny were…ummm… right? Well they were right, alright – far right. It was only a few short years ago that they moved it back to the comics page.

Anyway, this week Garry Trudeau lampooned god in politics.

It’s so logical!

10 thoughts on “Doonesbury This Week

  1. Trudeau is great. I think he’s going to get lots of material to work with throughout this election cycle. Unfortunately, times of bounty for cartoonists are usually times of despair for the rest of us.

  2. This is why I couldn’t understand The Daily Show or the Corbert Report shutting down for the writer’s strike. This shit writes itself. Who needs writers?

    Another brilliant piece from Trudeau

  3. I liked it when he says he wishes God had given him a “heads up” on Katrina. The man claims to talk to God every day, right?

    As for the last row of the strip, I can personally attest all too well that GOD DOES HATE THE KNICKS.

  4. Trudeau is pretty good, I always enjoyed the strip.

    Walt Kelly (Pogo), Al Capp (Li’l Abner), and Bill Mauldin (general political cartoons) really had some excellent cartoon commentary.

    Capp was very specific in his criticisms of LBJ, he probably has an FBI file that would need a fork lift to move.

  5. I like Doonesbury, and I loved Li’l Abner. General Bullmoose, Granny Yokum, and especially Li’l Abner’s job as mattress tester 🙂 Ah, almost forgot Evil Eye Fleegle hehe, from Brooklyn.

  6. Spartacus: I thought God hated Isaiah back when he got slapped with that lawsuit, but I was wrong. Sometimes I think it’s just me God hates!

    Evo: Kobe Bryant is the Anti-Christ

    S.I.: Sorry for bringing the discussion back to basketball again, but I actually believe this whole thread is still relevant to your post since the comic in question specifically mentions God and the Knicks.

Comments are closed.