A Couple Of My Favorite Xmas Songs

Here are some old Christmas songs I always loved, back in the 60s, 70s and 80s. It amazes me how relevant they are today.

Here are the lyrics for Greg Lake’s I Believe in Father Christmas for you to sing along with the video. You remember Greg Lake? From Emerson, Lake and Palmer?

They said there’ll be snow at Christmas
They said there’ll be peace on Earth
But instead it just kept on raining
A veil of tears for the Virgin’s birth
I remember one Christmas morning
A winters light and a distant choir
And the peal of a bell and that Christmas Tree smell
And their eyes full of tinsel and fire

They sold me a dream of Christmas
They sold me a Silent Night
And they told me a fairy story
‘Till I believed in the Israelite
And I believed in Father Christmas
And I looked to the sky with excited eyes
‘Till I woke with a yawn in the first light of dawn
And I saw him and through his disguise

I wish you a hopeful Christmas
I wish you a brave New Year
All anguish pain and sadness
Leave your heart and let your road be clear
They said there’ll be snow at Christmas
They said there’ll be peace on Earth
Hallelujah, Noel, be it Heaven or Hell
The Christmas we get we deserve.

La la la la la la la la la la….

__________________

And Christmas wouldn’t be complete without John Lennon’s Happy Christmas (War is Over), would it?

______________________

Finally, one I always listen to, year after year. Band Aid’s Do They Know It’s Christmas. This was a far superior song to the more widely hyped” We Are the World”. Don’t they all seem so young?

Enjoy!! And Merry Christmas!

14 thoughts on “A Couple Of My Favorite Xmas Songs

  1. I hate to go OT on the first comment, but you should know that I’m tagging you with the Seven Weird Things meme. You get to tell us seven weird, unusual or unique things about yourself.

  2. We used to sing one in the barracks to the tune of “Deck The Halls”:

    Tickle the balls of a long-haired collie,
    That will make him frisky and jolly!

    I remember the ones in Pogo

    Good King Saurkraut, look out!
    Fo’ yo’ feet’s uneven…

    then there was

    Deck us all with Boston Charlie,
    Walla Walla wash
    and Kalamazoo…

    And a few others I hesitate to add.

    Might be marching in the Mummers parade this new years in your town, O Unexpected One. Not firm, but I have an invite.

  3. SI:
    I’m a big fan of the Lennon song, but I’ve always felt that Yoko’s singing voice is worse than chalk on a blackboard.

    Sarge:
    I loved those Pogo Christmas carols when I was growing up, and I still love them now. Every year, my wife and I sing:

    Deck us all with Boston Charlie,
    Walla Walla, Wash., an’ Kalamazoo!
    Nora’s freezin’ on the trolley,
    Swaller dollar cauliflower alleygaroo!
    Don’t we know archaic barrel.
    Lullaby Lilla Boy, Louisville Lou? [edited by blog owner]
    Trolley Molly don’t love Harold,
    Boola boola Pensacoola hullaballoo!

    Note: There’s a great jazz recording of that version sung by Lambert, Hendricks, and Ross.

    Now, if you’re a real aficionado, you might remember one year when Beauregard (the bloodhound) tried to teach the swamp folk the “correct” words?

    Bark us all bow-wows of folly,
    Polly wolly cracker an’ too-da-loo!
    Hunky Dory’s Pop is lolly-
    Gaggin’ on the wagon, Willy, folly go through!
    Donkey Bonny brays a carol,
    Antelope cantaloupe, ‘lope with you!
    Chollie’s collie barks at Barrow,
    Harum scarum five alarum bung-a-loo!

  4. SI, if I go it will be Philly.

    Thanks, Ext. I have to go up to the attic and dig out some of my old Pogo, L’il Abner, and Mad Magazine books.

  5. My kids used to sing “deck the halls with bags of lollies”. I’ve forgotten the rest of the words they made up. Something about popcorn strings and marshmallows.

  6. I’ve never heard I Believe in Father Christmas, but I love the others. I’m going to add all three to my Christmas music lineup (if I can find IBiFC for sale online).

    This year I haven’t listened to much Christmas music. I need to rectify that.

    Ex, there’s a decent remake of Happy Christmas (War is Over)by Sarah McLachlan. Unfortunately it doesn’t have John Lennon, but it doesn’t have Yoko either.

    And, yes, I feel old watching all of these videos.

  7. I found IBiFC on a compilation on Amazon, where you can Download individual songs in MP3 format for .89 -.99 cent each. I have it on my iPod. Check here. (ignore the other two, they just came up in my search)

  8. I have always been a fan of the Vince Guaraldi Trio’s soundtrack from a Peanut’s Christmas. My wife is not wild about it. She likes the little drummer boy/peace on earth concoction (i’m not sure if I have the right songs, but its david bowie singing with some dead guy?)

  9. On another note, as a child I spent a great deal of time wonder where on earth Orientare was (you know, ‘We thre kings of Orient are, Bearing gifts etc.). We also had a Death Valley version of Jingle Bells (I don’t remember all of it (they say memory is the second thing to go, I don’t remember the first) but it included ‘Bouncing o’er the Dunes, in a Dunebuggy so bright’ and there was also a line about scorpions). My wife remembers wondering why the shepherds were washing their socks by night.

    Childhood is wasted on children.

  10. Thanks for the Pogo Carols. I’ve been sharing the “Deck us all” one for years, including during church-singing. The other one I had forgotten.

    Does anyone know any other carols from Pogo? I recall there was one that began, “Look out, good King Whatsisface, / Yo’ feets is uneven ….” But was there more to that one, was it ever finished? And were there others that I have now forgotten?

Comments are closed.