Carnival Of The Godless #78

Well, it is that time again. The time when some of the recent rantings and ravings of the recalcitrant godless bloggers are collected in a central location for those who like their rants all in one place. I do a disservice to this fine bunch of writings by denigrating them as rants (actually, one of them, mine, was just that, but let’s not nitpick) because they are clearly more than that. 

You can make up your own minds on that issue, by checking them out over at Greta Christina’s Blog. She has two versions – the Haunted House version and the Simple List version, the latter without the Halloween themed graphics for those of you still using 300 baud modems, I presume (haha, sucks to be you. I use the faster 2400 baud one).

Check it out.

3 thoughts on “Carnival Of The Godless #78

  1. Oh, Damn….

    I thought you said “Calender of the Goddess”. Well, I suppose as long as I’m there I’ll do some reading. Might learn a thing or three.

    By the way, ‘the Godless” need to change their self-descriptive word. I mean, it sounds like we’ve lost god or he abandoned us – as if there really is a god.

    Here’s what we do. First, we need a symbol. I’m thinking something that will catch the eye. Maybe a big red “G” or something. Then there is the word “Godless”. Besides what I said, there’s the problem that it really alienates us from the Godfull.

    You might consider something a little friendlier. How about calling ourselves “The Lights”? I don’t know.

    I’m just a little bored tonight. The Democratic Debates are on, and Al Gore isn’t there. He’s not bad for a Godfull.

  2. I know the feeling, John. I’m always pulling my bi-focals off when reading stuff online, and thinking, “Did I just read what I thought I read?” Usually a second look corrects it.

    By the way, ‘the Godless” need to change their self-descriptive word. I mean, it sounds like we’ve lost god or he abandoned us – as if there really is a god.

    Interesting point. I see two different connotations to the term.

    1. Without god – I.e. atheistic
    2. heathen, barbaric, prone to pillage, rape and plunder.

    I go with what’s behind connotation # 1. Most theists see the one behind door # 2, though sometimes I wouldn’t mind being thought of as #2. What an image!

    I’m just a little bored tonight.

    Well, you could start working on your Lamb essay.

Comments are closed.