A Milestone, A Plug & A Public Service Announcment

The Milestone

Last night while I was sleeping, this blog reached a milestone. I was keeping an eye on it, but by 2:30 AM, I needed to sleep, so I didn’t actually see the odometer roll over. According to the WordPress stats, I hit 25,000 views. I’m not exactly sure what that means. What is a view? WordPress actually calls them views, so I’m assuming that every time someone clicks a link to get to the blog, and views a page, that counts as one view. That doesn’t mean that I’ve had 25,000 separate and distinct individuals view my site. It just means 25,000 clicks on the blog. It could all be just one guy (Hi Dad). But I still think that’s a milestone.

I remember when I started this, and thought

“Well, this is kind of fun. I get to write, I get to rant, and I get to do it in public, and I don’t have to worry about what anyone thinks, because nobody knows I’m here. The best of all possible worlds!”

That’s changed. People come and actually leave comments. Friends have actually found me here. Which brings me to…

The Plug

Over there on the right hand column, in one of my widgets, is a picture of a book. Actually, as I write this, there are three, but it’s the second one I’m pointing too. Big City, Bad Blood, by Sean Chercover. It’s his first book, a tightly written crime thriller involving a PI in Chicago who gets tangled up with, and tussles with, the Outfit, the local nom de guerre for the Mob. It is getting great reviews, and deserves every one of them. I highly recommend it. Buy two, they’re small.

The Public Service Announcement

Finally, I think this is important, and should be disseminated everywhere. I received this via email from a trusted friend.

To my friends who enjoy a glass of wine… and those who don’t.

To paraphrase Ben Franklin, “In wine there is wisdom, in beer there is freedom, in water there is bacteria.”

In a number of carefully controlled trials, scientists have demonstrated that if we drink 1 liter of water each day, at the end of the year we would have absorbed more than 1 kilo of Escherichia coli, (E. coli) – bacteria found in feces. In other words, we are consuming 1 kilo of poop. However, we do NOT run that risk when drinking wine & beer (or tequila, rum, whiskey or other liquor) because alcohol has to go through a purification process of boiling, filtering and/or fermenting. Remember: Water = Poop, Wine = Health. Therefore, it’s better to drink wine and talk stupid, than to drink water and be full of shit.

There is no need to thank me for this valuable information: I do it as a public service.

14 thoughts on “A Milestone, A Plug & A Public Service Announcment

  1. Pingback: Wine Database » A Milestone, A Plug & A Public Service Announcment

  2. I know the Dutch would drink beer since their water was too nasty to drink. Sounds good to me. I’m forwarding the info to others. So now when the wife asks, “you’re drinking again?!” with that scowl when I have a beer I can say, “what, would you rather I get e. coli?”. Brilliant!

    Congrats on the 25,000. I don’t even know how to check views. 25,000 sure sounds like a hell of a lot though. I’m guilty of a dozen in the last day I think.

  3. Miguel

    Even though I trust my friend, it’s the type of email I wouldn’t necessarily trust for accuracy, neither on the quotations, nor the science.

    But I trust the advice. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. 8)

  4. Sure glad I never paid attention to the old 8 glasses of water a day advice. Then again, I drink a whole lot of iced tea every day. The coloration covers the problem.

    SI, you have break these kind of posts up. No one seems to want to talk about your first two items. So let me be the first to say congratulations. Just remember, you’d only be at 24,912 if it wasn’t for me. You owe me big time.

  5. Congrats, Spanqy, on the 25K. If those were miles you’d have gone around the earth. More or less. And as Benny Franklin said in the pub one December night, “An ephemeral view beats being blind.” (Page 513, vol. 3, Collected Works, third paragraph from top. Moscow edition.)

  6. To the Grand Inquisitor.

    Congratulations, good things can happen in our sleep.

    Have you read any Mike Hammer-Mickey Spillane novels?

    I don’t drink much, but I’ll tip the glass to your 25,000

  7. This reminds me of a chronic problem in beer vats ( one the public doesn’t usually hear about ) – drowned frogs.

Comments are closed.