Meme, Schmeme. My Scheme.

Well, I was tagged by vjack over at Atheist Revolution as part of this meme tag game that seems to have infected the blogs (and as I write this, I find I’ve been tagged by Heather over at Why Don’t You Blog – a very good question, by the way.). So, first I will follow the rules by posting the rules, then I will break the rules by not following the rules. Got that?

  • We have to post these rules before we give you the facts.
  • Players start with eight random facts/habits about themselves.
  • People who are tagged need to write their own blog about their eight things and post these rules.
  • At the end of your blog post, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names.
  • Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

Next come the “facts”.

  1. I’m really pissed off at the Exterminator over at No More Hornets, for voting for Ralph Nader in 2000 (see his # 5). Reliable information has it that he lived in Broward County, Florida at the time, and if he had voted for Gore, Bush would not have been elected, nor re-elected, there would have been no Iraq war, no Dick Cheney, no Rummie. I admire Ralph Nader too, and was tempted to vote for him for the same reason, but I knew we’d only get Roberts and Alito, or some reasonable facsimiles, on the Supreme Court if I did. So it’s all his fault. Let him know how you feel.
  2. I’m getting a little concerned about Yeti (or Blue or Playstation Girl – she’s used a few names online) over at The Blue Linchpin. For those who don’t know, she’s a 16 year old blogger with Lymphoma who started blogging about politics and atheism early last month. She last mentioned on June 11 that she was having a “big operation” which she might not survive, and has not posted since. I am feeling a bit paternal towards her, since she’s younger than my own children, and she seems so vulnerable. Hey, it’s a father’s thing! I’ve even gone so far as to check the obituaries online in her hometown newspaper. She’s not in them.
  3. I stole the picture for my header from Dan Harlow over at the blog called Gimme Back My God! I mentioned that before, but I want to give credit again because I really like that painting. It represents what’s actually going on at the Last Supper far better than the New Testament or Leonardo DaVinci ever did. The doctrine of transubstantiation in art! I love it.
  4. I hate metal. Music. You know, heavy metal? With apologies to vjack’s favorite (#6), it gives me a headache. I find very little originality in it, but in all honesty, I don’t listen to it enough to hear anything original, so maybe I’m missing those subtle nuances that only true head bangers can pick up. Like three chords played over and over at high volume. Very subtle. Very nuanced.
  5. I’m a sensitive guy (as you can probably tell from #4). Since I feel that empathy is one of the more important traits a human can have, indeed, it’s probably necessary for the evolution and survival of our species, I don’t think there is anything wrong with being sensitive. Maybe I’m getting in touch with my inner female, but in all honesty, I think the female is the superior sex. At least, I usually find them far more attractive and interesting than males. In any case, I digress. This little factoid is about my sensitive side, and I wish to mention that I’m sensitive to and empathize with The Anonymous Coward, who recently came “out”, as in “gay” (which tends to contradict the Coward part of his name), but who is also beginning a career in acting. I find all this to be admirable, since I still can’t sign my name to this blog, and I wouldn’t be caught dead on a stage, and if I was, I would not be acting.
  6. I’d love to write a newspaper column like Mike Royko used to. In a way, this blog fulfills that particular dream, without the income. One of these days I’ll try my hand at creating a character like Slats Grobnik, and incorporate him into an atheistic world view. In the mean time, take a gander at The Grumpy Tiger, which so far has come the closest I’ve found to Royko’s style.
  7. I love to listen to a British accent. I don’t know why, but I’ve always felt that proper English should be spoken with such an accent. This is actually a lead to some of the excellent British bloggers here, like Evanescent and A Load of Bright (whose voice I hope to hear here). Actually, I like the Aussie accent too, so lets throw BEEP! BEEP! IT’S ME in here too.
  8. I was once deluded into believing in a small pyramid scheme. Someone at college (I was still young and naive in my freshman year) sent me a letter saying I should send $money$ to the people named at the bottom of the letter, and add my name, after which I would get a ton of money in the return post. I believed it and sent it out. I got nothing. I was burned. Belief and delusion combined to disappoint me, and I swore I’d never react to a chain letter again. Which partially explains why I won’t add any names to the bottom of this post. It may also have something to do with my atheism.

Did you ever get one of those emails that implores you to forward it to 10 friends in your address book, or suffer some awful fate? I never forward them, even if they seem to be innocent fun. For the same reason, this meme stops here.

In any event, I see the purpose of this meme tag to be somewhat innocuous, being aimed at the blogging community with a view to expanding readership and connection between the blogs. That’s a good thing, so you’ll notice that my 8 factoids are aimed at doing just that – they link back to various blogs and sites I enjoy on a regular basis. Click on all of them, I’m sure you’ll find something of interest if you are not aware of them already.

So my meme scheme is to stop the meme, while at the same time having fun with it, within the context of the blog world. There are enough tags out there to keep it going.

Besides. All the good blogs have been tagged.

7 thoughts on “Meme, Schmeme. My Scheme.

  1. Well, of all the lowdown, lying, libelous things to say about a person! I have never, nor do I plan ever, to live in Broward County, Florida. The only chad I’ve got hanging has never been on a “butterfly” ballot.

  2. Since you bring it up, if you get a chance to listen to me in the Dawkins program, I may sound a bit better spoken than I actually am. I tend to gabble when I’m nervous, so I was trying to really enunciate – and I think I may have over compensated. I don’t actually sound like the queen.

  3. The british accent is awesome. Truly awesome. They make great narrators and you automatically assume that everything they say is important.

    Except that cockney crap. That just sounds awful.

  4. Heh, every new blog I’ve found over the past couple of days has had this meme on it!

    I had a list of blogs I wanted to tag if I ever got tagged, but most of them have already gotten tagged! WTF! Oh well, I’m sure there are many good blogs out there who haven’t yet been memeified.

  5. I was in America not too long ago, and only one person said they liked my accent. What the hell is wrong with you, America!

    Tobe: The queen actually has an almost unique accent all of her own, so it would be very strange if you sounded like her.

  6. Pingback: Any Dreams Will Do » Any Dreams Will Do June 26, 2007 7:49 pm

Comments are closed.