First Post

I imagine that it is required that I post something, anything, in order to start a blog.

I always thought that it seemed somewhat pretentious and egotistical for one to maintain a blog. Who cares what I think, right? I’m just another schmoe with an internet connection. But that’s exactly the point, isn’t it? I don’t have to have the resources of the New York Times or the deep pockets of Rupert Murdoch to be able to get the voice of one more schmoe out into the wilderness, where no one is listening anyway.

So, hello digital world. I may be back to add to this inauspicious beginning. Later.

9 thoughts on “First Post

  1. Welcome!

    Congratulations on your first post and taking the plunge. It’s well worth the effort. I look forward to reading your work.

  2. Not sure how you found me already, but I appreciate the welcome to BlogWorld. I don’t even have the blog really settled yet, but I guess it will always be a work in progress. I’m still getting the hang of procedure and technicalities before I start with some substance.

    So, thanks!

  3. Lol. It never finds me long to find someone who links to my blog! 🙂 If you go to http://www.technorati.com you can find out who links to whom.

    I’ve only been doing my blog for about 6 weeks, but I’ve already realised that you never stop working on it (I mean the layout, sidebar etc, obviously you always have to write for it). It’s taken me a bit of time to get into a rhythm with it as well.

    I like what you’ve written so far, and added you to my blogroll. I’ve not got millions of readers by any stretch of the imagination, but I hope it helps a bit to get you launched. And, if you look on the internet, there are plenty of sites that offer tips to new bloggers.

    Good luck!

  4. Hi there! The Blog world is sort of like heading out on an uncharted course and letting curiosity lead the way. Hence, my curiosity found me here. I don’t have a blog site…yet. I’d like to, but I just can’t commit. But, I do LOVE reading others and commenting when a subject moves me in some way. Anyway, I found you through Atheist Revolution — a site I visit religiously! Have fun with your blogging. Your site is very attractive.

  5. Why, thanks. I appreciate that, Sandy. I am having fun, though every time I hit the “publish” button, I get nervous. I can see me getting very little of anything else done, though.

  6. Yes, it is habit forming. I’m fascinated with how people think and I love taking in as much info as this pea brain can handle, so the internet and blogging has become somewhat of an addiction for me. I might need a 12 step program soon! I know what you mean about the heart palpitations the ‘publish’ button brings. Some sites let you preview first, which I like — gives me another chance to tone it down and correct my typos. So, please pardon me…no second chances here!

    Are you liking Atheist Revolution?

  7. Yes. And about a dozen others, when I have the time. The ones in the right column I try to check every day, though I don’t do the websites every day, just the blogs.

  8. Oh great…you’ve just given a vodka tonic to an alcoholic! I’m never going to get anything done today.

Comments are closed.