Finally: A Boycott I Can Get Behind!

Boycotts usually bore me. They are almost universally ineffective, as most people, at least when it comes to consumer boycotts, vote with their purse, and their purse is usually reserved for personal benefit, not altruistic notions of fair play and/or the betterment of mankind. Sadly so.

But on the topic of “Betterment of Mankind”, here is a boycott that promises positive benefits for the country, while costing us nothing. Dana Milbank of the Washington Post has declared a Palin Free February.

I hereby pledge that, beginning on Feb 1, 2011, I will not mention Sarah Palin – in print, online or on television – for one month. Furthermore, I call on others in the news media to join me in this pledge of a Palin-free February. With enough support, I believe we may even be able to extend the moratorium beyond one month, but we are up against a powerful compulsion, and we must take this struggle day by day.

Wouldn’t it be nice if not only the commentariat of the country, but everybody, including the full “lamestream media”, simply ignored Sarah Palin, no matter what she did, as if she didn’t exist? I realize that if she rode a dinosaur naked across the White House lawn, the National Enquirer, and probably the World Nut Daily would probably cover the story (if she did that, I’d suspend the boycott temporarily just to see that). However, as long as she stays in character (and make no mistake, she is a character) and pretends to be relevant, then she should be ignored.

I pledge to not post anything in February about Sarah Palin (except possibly a picture of her riding a dinosaur naked across the White House lawn – but don’t hold your breath.)

6 thoughts on “Finally: A Boycott I Can Get Behind!

  1. This is a brilliant idea. Perhaps it will get the point across that we aren’t even shocked anymore, and is often the case, ignoring the person is often the best course of action. Though how much it will do as those who actually pay attention to her and the least likely to participate. Though it still couldn’t hurt and I can say I shall be participating as well. Thank you for spreading this.

  2. There’s a lot of people I would like to see boycotted of any mention in the news. The Kardashian sisters. Any of the cast of “The Real Housewives of [fill in the blank]“. Joan and Melissa Rivers. Newt Gingrich (face it pal. You’ll never be president, so stop acting like you will ever be a serious contender for the office.)

    As for Palin, from now on, whenever I do refer to her, I will call her Half Term Sarah.

  3. Sarah Who?

    I started boycotting her sometime after she and McCain lost the ’08 election. I’ve refused to write about her for some time now, even though I’ve been tempted to do so many times.

    Also, I second Tommy’s list. All in favor, say “aye.”

Comments are closed.